Trust in the Lord with all Your Might

My dearest family!!!

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

This week I have really learned so much about EVERYTHING!! I am so grateful to be a missionary and to get to serve the Lord with all my heart, might, mind and strength for 18 whole and complete months. I cherish every minute of my mission. I love this work. This week I felt as though I had been coasting a little. There was even a day where I felt discouraged. AH! I hate that feeling so much. Father is so good though and he always gives us just what we need. I had been fasting and praying to know what more I can do and how I can better fulfill my purpose. Yesterday I asked for a priesthood blessing (oh how I love blessings!!) and in the blessing (A) I just felt so much love from Father and help from Him. I knew that we aren’t in this work alone. and (B) I knew that Father had sent me here to have success and to learn all the things that I wanted to on my mission especially in How to trust in the Lord. I know that Father sets us all up for success and that we go through things so that we may be refined and made pure and perfect even as he is. It is so comforting to know that Father knows the desires to of my heart and has set me up to learn all that I need and to be able to reach our goals. I am so grateful for the priesthood and for the opportunity that I have to truly trust in God and “thrusteth in [my] sickle with [my] might.”

We went to go see a less active/recent convert on Tuesday. He wasn’t home the first time we knocked so we went to Harvest around his home. We were able to meet some amazing people and the first door we knocked on was Josh, who also is a member that we had been looking for. Awesome. We were about to leave the area and head to our next appointment but then we saw a young man down the street. We OYM’d him and it was the less active we had been looking for! He was as happy to see us as we were to see him. As we talked WITH him we were able to gain his trust and he said, “Hey, I have a friend that I have been wanting to bring to church with me.” He went in to get his phone to call his friend and when he came out of his house JD – his friend that he wanted to introduce us to – walked right up! We were able to have a really powerful lesson with both of them and left them with the Book of Mormon. When we invited JD to be baptized he said, “Imma do everything in my power to be baptized on that day. That’s whats up – I need more faith.” He came to church on Sunday – he loved it and is preparing to be baptized!

This week in the Book of Mormon I felt inspired to read Alma 26. I was reviewing some of my old notes and came across all the reasons why I am on a mission and what I want to accomplish. I am so grateful I answered all those questions Sister Anderson gave us back in August. As I reflected on my own reason why I was here and then read Ammon’s words “Behold, the field was ripe, and blessed are ye, for ye did thrust in the sickle, and did reap with your might, yea, all the day long did ye labor; and behold the number of your sheaves! And they shall be gathered into the garners, that they are not wasted.” I know that no effort is wasted in the work of the Lord. This is His work and all we do is helping him to bring to pass the “immortality and eternal life of man.” As we invite all to come and to be baptized and receive the gift of the Holy Ghost – He is with us and he will raise us and them up at the last day.

I love you all and am so grateful for you!! I pray you are having a fantastic December!! Gladys, Keshawn, and JD are all getting baptized next week – we will have a white Christmas here in Florida đŸ™‚

love you!

Sister Stegelmeier East Coaster

Leave a Reply

