“I’m staying in this church for the rest of my life.” – Keshawn

12-2-2013 Keshawn and Gladys baptismMy dearest family!!

It has truly been an incredible miracle filled week. My life has forever been changed and shaped by the things that happened and the things that I have learned this week. I love being a sister missionary. I am so grateful for your faith and trust.

Gladys and Keshawn got baptized!! They are so amazing! It has been a wild week with them, but with faith and a whole lot of moving they were able to get baptized! It was a miracle. Jednar is preparing to be baptized this next Sunday and is doing GREAT!

It has been an incredible week of learning and growing here in Boynton!! I realized that over the last couple months I had let my fear of man take over and gotten overwhelmed with all the things that my fear was creating. We are always free to choose and in every moment we are in choice whether or not we are going to choose faith or fear. I had let my fear overwhelm me. I am so grateful for this experience. I have learned so much at the power of our thoughts and actions and especially about the power of the atonement. It is as we apply the atonement and choose the Savior that our faith is strengthened, these little choices bring about miracles.

On Thursday Gladys and Keshawn were evicted from their home. We went to help them move all their stuff into storage. Their neighbor and his son who is good friends with Keshawn came to help. As we moved everything we had the opportunity to share the gospel with him and his sons. A new member who was helping us move them also shared her testimony with this man. Throughout the experience his heart continued to soften and he kept getting more and more curious. When we finished loading the truck we shared a brief and powerful message with them about baptism and invited them, they were hesitant so we set a return appointment for the next day and left them with the commitment to pray about it. The next day we followed up on the commitment we left and he told us how he had been awake all night praying to know if he needed to be baptized again. He said he that part way through the night he felt a resounding yes! So amazing. He and his family are coming to an FHE in Bishop’s home tonight and we are so excited to help them to prepare for baptism.

In the Book of Mormon I have been studying in the great book of Alma. Alma and Amulek after teaching the people of the great plan of salvation then shared with them the commandments that we are to keep. Our faith turns our obedience into power and produces miracles. It is simple and brings great joy into our lives. This is what enables us to be the missionaries and representatives that Father would have us be. We are angles. “Now is the time to repent, for the day of salvation draweth nigh; Yea, and the voice of the Lord, by the mouth of angels, doth declare it unto all nations; yea, doth declare it, that they may have glad tidings of great joy…And they are made known unto us in plain terms, that we may understand, that we cannot err…” (Alma 13:21-23). I know that as I repent of my fear and pride in the form of stress and choose faith that we will have success in declaring the “glad tidings of great joy” with our brothers and sisters this Christmas! We are going to have a white Christmas!

Exchanges with Sister Johnson. I love her so much and I am so grateful for the opportunity that I have had to serve with her throughout my whole mission. My eyes were really opened to see her in a way that I hadn’t before. We were really able to share with one another and strengthen each other. I love Sister Johnson so much and I am so grateful that Heavenly Father put us in each other’s lives in such a big way throughout my whole mission. The biggest thing that I learned from the exchange was my role as a trainer to help Sister Hartley to develop all the strengths that I have gained on my mission by helping her take the lead and really blossom. I am committed to really helping her lead out and develop this. I know Sister Hartley is more than capable and that the Lord will help me to hold back to let her develop and grow her strengths.

How are you all doing on the challenge/commitment to invite someone to be taught by the missionaries or to church? I know you can each do this and that there are opportunities to share the gospel no matter where you are in the world – even in Morgan, UT! We all need the gospel. It will be a white Christmas in more than one way as we invited our loved ones to come and take part in the ordinances of salvation!

love you

Sister Stegelmeier of the east coast variety

#Faith+obedience=tremendousmiracles!

Leave a Reply

