“To love at all is to be vulnerable.”

My dear family!!

 Wow it has been an amazing week. Ask and ye shall receive. I have really been searching on how to improve and progress as well as how to build stronger relationships with those I love. This week I have been able to learn things that really helped me to see what I can do really blossom through the Savior and inspire all those I am around to do the same. It has been a humbling week but I know that it has prepared us to really team up with the Lord and receive from Him to help our investigators to do the same.

 We had an incredible experience this week with one of our members. She had just met up with us and we were going to see a potential that we had contacted earlier that week. We went to knock on her door and a woman who was not our potential answered the door. We immediately testified of who we are and why we were there. She let us in and we left a blessing with her. After the prayer the Spirit was so strong and our member immediately offered help with her couches and table. As we testified and shared with her the love and Spirit in the room got stronger and stronger. Marie then told us how that morning she had been praying for God to send someone to help her. She had promised years ago that she would come to church and get baptized but she had been searching for the church God wanted her to be in and she knew that God sent us as an answer. “Faith in the Lord also means faith in His timing.” – Elder Maxwell. The Lord’s timing is the best and teaches us all what we need. Our member walked away with a huge testimony of harvesting and we all walked away edified. Marie is amazing. I love this work.

 This week I have really been able to learn and re learn the importance of allowing the Spirit to work through our personalities and not turning into a missionary robot. I realized that I had become mechanical in many of the things that I was doing not on purpose or because I wanted to but because I was afraid of getting hurt. I love this quote by CS Lewis that my mom sent me:

 “To love at all is to be vulnerable.

Love anything, and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly be broken.

If you want to make sure of keeping it intact, you must give your heart to no one, not even to an animal.

Wrap it up carefully around with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements, lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness.

But in that casket – safe dark, motionless, airless – it will change.

It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable.

The tragedy is damnation.

The only place outside of Heaven where you can be perfectly safe from all the dangers and perturbations of love is Hell.”

It can be hard to open up and share – it is easy to just go through the motions but this is not what the Lord asks of us. I love the allegory of the olive tree because each time I study it I learn so much. “wherefore ye shall clear away the bad according as the good shall grow, that the root and the top may be equal in strength, until the good shall overcome the bad, and the bad be hewn down and cast into the fire, that they cumber not the ground of my vineyard; and thus will I sweep away the bad out of my vineyard.” The Lord of the vineyard loves his vineyard so much and he sees the potential in each tree. He holds onto that and then as the faith of the trees grows he cuts out the bad. This is how the Lord wants us to build one another.

This is how the Lord wants us to look at ourselves as well. “Spare it a little longer.” Never give up. Keep opening up and loving.

 I love this work and I love being a missionary to quote Sister Nimer, “I would love to pull a nun and be a missionary forever.” Thank you all for your support, prayers, faith and example!

 Love

Sister Stegelmeier

Leave a Reply

