“Get Star Struck!” – Bishop Brown

My dearest family!!!

 Wasn’t General Conference the best?!?! So amazing I know I received so many answers to my prayers and that this last weekend has changed my life forever. Great news!!! On November 7 Sister Dunford and I and the rest of the STLs and a bunch of recent converts from our areas and our sisters areas get to hang the chandeliers in the Fort Lauderdale temple!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  VBD. I am so grateful. I can’t even handle it. I am so happy! I can’t wait.

 It has been such an amazing week – the best yet. I want to always have as much of a revelatory experience from General Conference as I have this last week for the rest of my life. I know it is through obedience, sacrifice, and consecration that we are able to become more like our Savior. I love this work and I have learned so much this last week and I am so excited to apply it and reach the goals that we have set. We are doing it. We are going to reach our goals this month. I know it, I can feel it, and I believe and trust in God. He always prepares a way for us to accomplish the things that he has commanded us.

 This week I have been learning much about the importance of making and keeping covenants and promises with God. Covenants and promises literally change our hearts and bind us to God as we make and faithfully keep them. (see Mosiah 5:2,5,7) Remembering the Savior and these convents always is what changes us and seals us through the Holy Spirit of Promise. (see sacrament prayers) We can know that the Lord has accepted our covenants and promises and is pleased with our actions, thoughts and words as we feel the Spirit working through us.

(see PMG pg 11 and 91) As we are steadfast and immovable in remembering the Savior and holding true we will always abound in Good works and return proven, pure and sealed. (see Mosiah 5:15) Making and keeping covenants set us free and increase our spiritual capacity.

(see True to the Faith “Covenants”) Self mastery is necessary to be able to develop the Character of Christ. I loved Elder Nelsons talk in Conference about fasting. Fasting is to place reason over our appetites. It purifies our hearts as we look to God with firmness of mind and pray with exceeding faith. As we do this, the Lord promises to console us, plead our cause and send justice to those who seek to destroy us. (see Jacob 3:1)

 As I pondered this I realized that there were some things in my life that I want to really shift and change so that I may truly be more like the Savior, full of his love and compassion. (see Alma 38:12) I took an if…then to the Lord. J If I strive to have grace, poise and dignity in actions and thoughts by controlling my reactions and channeling my inner femininity and not pick at myself both my weaknesses and those things that are visible, then wilt thou bless me with the ability to love as Christ loves and reach our goals (all of them!).  I know that this is what God wants me to do especially in the last stretch of my mission. This is going to take me turning to the Lord in a way that I haven’t before to change thoughts and habits that I have had for my whole life but I know that I and my brothers and sisters will become the miracle as the Lord blesses me with abilities equal the this amazing task. We are going to baptize 7 amazing people this month.

 We are working with some amazing people and so many amazing families!!

Channell is really changing and becoming more like the Savior and can’t wait for her baptism this weekend. We had a life changing experience yesterday with Tiffany and Dwayne yesterday at conference – they committed to live the law of chastity and are getting married and baptized this week! I love preparing for the prophets. I love this work!

 Last week Bishop Brown in ward council committed everyone to “get star-struck” with missionary work. I love this and with the commitment we got from Elder Ballard’s commitment to have each member of the church prepare a friend and loved one to be taught by the missionaries (aka baptized). We are all apart of this work no matter where we live or what our calling is. Will you each “get star-struck” and prayerfully keep this commitment? Our lives will forever be changed as we are obedient to what the prophets have asked us to do and consecrate all that we have and are in doing what they have asked!

 Love you all forever and always!!

 love

Sister Stegelmeier I

Leave a Reply

