A trail of faith is more precious than GOLD!

My dearest Family!! 

 Transfers are this week and … I am staying in Ft laud!!! I am so happy and so grateful (to be honest I never want to leave…) I am so excited for this new transfer and to be here in Ft. Lauderdale West again. I love this area, ward, and sister dunford with all my heart. 

 I am finally moving out of PARAGON! This is a VBD. I have lived there my whole mission. It is cockroach infested and very small but it will always have a place in my heart. I love it and will miss it. I am not sure where we are moving but you all know how I feel about packing… I haven’t packed since I left home!!! AH!!!! 

 So we did what has never been done before on my mission. A transfer without baptizing. These are not the kind of records or goals I intend to set or reach ever… I am devastated, but at the same time I am grateful. This has been a huge trial of our faith. We have done all that we can and we have never been more obedient and diligent in our whole missions. We feel the spirit so strong with each of our investigators and we have really come to understand how to teach by the Spirit. Even with all of this and person after person and working with people for weeks we have not been able to baptize. It has almost made me crazy. Don’t worry it hasn’t and instead I have learned things that have changed my eternity. I feel very peaceful and I know that this transfer we are going to do what has never been done before and have great success. Heavenly Father is so amazing and so purposeful! 

 As I was reading in Alma 8 this morning I could not but relate with Alma. He finished his work in Melek and was called by God to Ammonihah to cry repentance to the people there but Satan had hardened their hearts so that they would not hearken to him. “Nevertheless Alma labored much in the spirit, wrestling with God in mighty prayer, that he would pour out his Spirit upon the people who were in the city; that he would also grant that he might baptize them unto repentance.” As he did this he humbly submitted to the will of the Lord and he turned to him to open their hearts and to enable him to have success in bringing his brethren to the gospel. Then he went and worked. He was reviled and thrown into prison and had a really rough time. This is when the angel who first appeared unto him returned with another message:  “Blessed art thou, Alma; therefore, lift up thy head and rejoice, for thou hast great cause to rejoice; for thou hast been faithful in keeping the commandments of God…And behold, I am sent to command thee that thou return to the city of Ammonihah.” Alma was obedient and he went again and was blessed with an amazing companion Amulek. They worked together to cry repentance to the people. I love this so much because it was a huge tender mercy for me to read and realize that this is not something that has never been done before and that God is with us and we will have success as we continue to press forward with steadfast faith in Christ. This is going to be the best transfer yet. I am so excited. We are going to have success in bringing families into the Gospel! 

 I have never been so happy and grateful to be a missionary especially in this amazing mission, in this amazing zone (I love ft laud so much), in this amazing area, with sister dunford – I love her so much, with the most amazing sisters to work with, and with the Spirit to be our constant guide and comforter. I am so grateful to represent the Lord in Ft Laud West!!! 

 Stanley and Taina are getting married and baptized tomorrow. I am so grateful for them and we have learned so much in teaching them. I am so happy! I am so happy that God has lead us to them!! 

 The other day we were driving to go to our next appointment. We passed a woman and her children outside of their house. My amazing companion turned the car around and we went back to bless her. We pulled up and the woman said as we got out of the car, “I know God sent you and here I am smoking.” We left a blessing with her and used our H2BT skills and her heart softened and she immediately decided right then to change her life and to be baptized. God sent us to her in that moment. She had been struggling to change and to have hope. She said a prayer before we left and in that prayer thanked God for sending us and asked him to help her to stay committed to changing. She is preparing to be baptized! I love this work so much! 

 Sister Dunford is amazing. She loves the Lord and loves fulfilling her purpose. We love working together and plan to change lives of people every where for the rest of our lives by helping them find and fulfill their purpose – especially women. 🙂 She is hilarious and courageous. She’s a midwife. She loves how I turn red – it might be her favorite thing everyday and it may or may not be her goal to have me do it daily… punk. I love making her laugh obvi and love being around her because she has amazing ability to love people.  I love her and I have learned so much from her. She rocks my crocs. 

 So you may never believe this but Sister Dunford and I sang in Sacrament meeting. This is only because Bishop Brown asked us to. It was one of the hardest and scariest things ever, but we did it. We were successful, I am pretty sure we didn’t drive the spirit away… 

 I love this work so much! I love being a sister missionary and a sister training leader. I love fulfilling my purpose! We have an incredible God who loves us each so much and knows us each individually. I know that this is His work and this is His church. I know that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of the Living God. 

 Love you! 

Sister Stegelmeier

 Ps I am sorry I never write letters… I love you all sooooooo much though and pray you feel that. 

 PPS – We need to be more bold about the gospel. This is not casual this is peoples salvation we are talking about!! VBD Will you all pray for and have a missionary experience this week?

Leave a Reply

