I’m Staying in Ft. Lauderdale

8-2013 apartment getting ready for transfer day 8-2013 apartment laughing 8-2013 apartment packing

I am obsessed with watching all these birds...

I am obsessed with watching all these birds…

8-2013 latisha and sister dougal

Latisha and Sister Stegelmeier

Latisha and Sister Stegelmeier

8-2013 mustache man looking forward

the most amazing recent convert in the Spanish branch. We love him. We named our car after him.

the most amazing recent convert in the Spanish branch. We love him. We named our car after him.

P-day on the boardwalk...tried to take a few pictures before the rain started...

P-day on the boardwalk…tried to take a few pictures before the rain started…

8-2013 with sister DougalMy dearest Family!!!

I am staying in Ft. Lauderdale!!! YAY!!! I love this place. 🙂 Sister Dougal is leaving… 😦 It is good though. 🙂 I have now been in the Ft Lauderdale Zone for over a year. I live in the same apt and I love life! haha I think that President is just keeping me close so he can keep an eye on me haha jk 😉 I know this is where I am supposed to be right now.

I am so grateful for the opportunity I have had to serve with Sister Dougal. She has changed my life in so many ways and helped me learn and grow. I am so excited for this new transfer and this new adventure. I am looking forward to repenting and changing in many ways. I also can’t wait to go out and fulfill my purpose with both the sisters and in our area!! I love this work!

It has been such a great week – and the theme for the week is humility and charity. I am so grateful to be able to learn and to be stretched. In reflecting back over the transfer I have been able to see how much the Lord has shaped, molded and enabled me to become better. I am so grateful for this! I am so humbled that He the creator of heaven and earth is in the very details of my life and in all of our lives when we humbly turn to Him we see it.

Sunday we were sitting in sacrament meeting with no one at church, including our baptism. A first for my mission. I was devastated. I was humbled and the scripture that came to mind was Mosiah 2:25-26:

“And now I ask, can ye say aught of yourselves? I answer you, Nay. Ye cannot say that ye are even as much as the dust of the earth…And I, even I, whom ye call your king, am no better than ye yourselves are; for I am also of the dust. “

I humbly prayed and poured my heart to my Father in Heaven. As I did so I felt peace and love. In that moment I thought to text Genie. It was then we found out that her dad had taken the car and all she needed was a ride. We called everyone we could think of. We prayed and then called some more. Finally Sister Dougal said. “Lets call Sister Anderson.” I am so grateful and so is Genie that she was able to give her a ride. Then as we went back into the chapel we got a call from Patrick – who we contacted Saturday. He called to tell us he was on his way but running late. Wow such a miracle. He came and he loved it. This experience and Genie’s baptism has changed my life. It is after all I can do and humbly turning to the Lord that he turns it all for our (all of his children’s) good.

As leaders we are so reliant on the Lord. We need to know what he would have us do and we need to be resolved in fulfilling our purpose. I am so grateful and humbled to be a missionary, a leader, and a representative of Jesus Christ. As we love God we will turn to him with exact obedience and with a humble heart to serve and to love his children. I am more determined and committed to being exactly obedient, being humble and trusting God, and loving all mankind. I know that as I do this that God will bless me with the guidance I need to bring his children unto him.

 

Love you!

Sister Stegelmeier I

 

One response

Leave a Reply

