Hold on to the WHY, let go of the HOW and go out and DO!

My dearest family!

I am eternally grateful that I was called to serve here in South Florida. I love this work, I love the people, I love all the missionaries we work with, I love the Lord!

This week we have learned so much and seen so many miracles. We really learned the importance of letting go of the results in a big way. I have always struggled with this in the past I always wanted to know how, but the Lord is refining me and us as we trust in Him. This is His work and there is no way we can control the outcome. It is all about humbly being instruments in the hands of the Lord. I love how this is demonstrated in the Book of Mormon time and time again. Especially the people of Anti-Nephi-Lehi in Alma 24: 19-23 “They were firm and would suffer even unto dearth rather than commit sin…they praised God even in the very act of perishing under the sword.” Their source of happiness and the sole object of their desire was to be At-One with God. I love what it says in the Bible dictionary about the Atonement: “The word describes the setting “at one” of those who have been estranged and denotes the reconciliation of man to God. Sin is the cause of the estrangement, and therefore the purpose of atonement is to correct or overcome the consequences of sin.” I have seen in the last week that as I have understood and seen the atonement in action in my life that my desire to share it with my brothers and sisters has increased so much. I desire to be like the people of Anti-Nephi-Lehi and when faced with any trail of my faith I will be like them – steadfast and immovable in my faith and love of God.

Wow we have seen so many miracles I don’t even know where to start. Honestly looking back it was all the Lord who enabled us to accomplish our goals. We new why we were going to accomplish what we set out to do (it was God’s will – we received confirmation and revelation), we set goals and knew what we were going to accomplish (17 members out with us 5 dates and 5 I@S), we let go of the how and went out and did. Each night we planned and prepared and replanned and did more preparation. By the end of the week we were able to have 18 different members come out and do missionary work with us and 7 dates and 6 I@S!!! This is His work. There is no way we could have organized that if I had wanted to. I know we had help from the other side of the veil. The best part is that we had some of the most inspired MPLs of my mission! The only way to do this work is His way.

So I am getting better at taking pictures, I forgot how to use a camera and this week I figured out how to use it again! yay! now we are going to take pictures. Remember I look busted all the time so just keep that in mind. I promise I get ready in the morning… hahaha good thing it is not about us. yay! haha

Fun food for thought. Sister dunford and I are the same person but exact oppisites. I don’t get it. Her mom is an RET tech haha. Her dad – a yellow for sure. so many other things but basically I love her and we are really learning how to work together and have balance. I love it!

Angela is getting baptized this next week and we are working with some of the cutest little families that I have ever seen in my life. I will take pictures. 🙂

love,

Sister Stegelmeier I

Leave a Reply

