Pioneer Day Florida Style

Okay, so it's not really Elder Archuleta. It's Elder Rivera. He's an elder in my mish who has an uncanny resemblance to David. And so of COURSE I asked him if I could have a picture. Everyone thought it was hilarious. We were all dying. (sis. Dougal)

Okay, so it’s not really Elder Archuleta. It’s Elder Rivera. He’s an elder in my mish who has an uncanny resemblance to David. And so of COURSE I asked him if I could have a picture. Everyone thought it was hilarious. We were all dying. (sis. Dougal)

My dearest Family!!

This week I have learned sooooooooo much! It has been such a great week and looking back I am pretty sure that I have said that about every week and every day, but the truth of the matter it has! I love this work. I love every minute and I learn so much everyday. I am so grateful for this.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BRAYDEN!!! sweet 16! yeah! you rock handsome! I can’t believe how grown up you are and that you are now old enough to drive and date! I remember when you were born! you are so amazing. I love you!

The Ft. Laud ward had a Pioneer Day Celebration on saturday. It was amazing. Oh boy we were in heaven. First of all black people don’t really know what pioneers are. So we all watched Legacy while they got lunch ready. It was so great. Bishop was wearing his boots and the largest belt buckle I have ever seen. I wish I had a picture. His shirt was the best – all about the second amendment. You would have loved it dad! Lunch was great. We sadly had to leave before all the games and contests and we were very sad.

Reflecting back in the last week – I am amazed at how much the Lord’s hand is in our work. This truly is His work – I love it. A weekish ago we suggested that as a ward we do a 40 day fast for missionary work and other needed blessings to unite the ward. Bishop Brown started the fast. He came out teaching with us that night and told us how his fast was answered Brother Wang (who had been fighting getting baptized for 19 years) got baptized and his family is preparing to enter the temple in a year. Then everyday since there has been someone fasting. We have seen more miracles than I have ever seen on my mission, not only in our area but in the whole ward. I wish I had time to tell you all the miracles! They have extended the fast to last till the temple is dedicated and the calendar is full so far! It is amazing to see the ward catch hold of the Spirit of missionary work even stronger. Faith! It all comes back to having faith and serving God selflessly. Angels are attending and hearts are being opened. This work is the best.

Lehi teaching his sons explained beautifully the doctrine of agency, “There is a God, and he hath created all things, both the heavens and the earth, and all things that in them are, both things to act and things to be acted upon. (2 Ne 2:14)” As we act and keep the commandments we are filled with light and truth and receive the Savior grace and mercy (see D&C 93:27-30). When we disobey we lose light and truth and give up our ability to act. Keeping the commandments (obedience with the heart – a broken heart and contrite Spirit) sets us free to act because we are surrendering our will to the Father’s – just like the Savior did.

Christ’s sacrifice is eternal. His selfless obedience gave his the power to stand in our place and to change our hearts as we come to him. As we are selfless, obedient and have pure motives like the Savior we are able to be Saviors on Mount Zion and open peoples hearts to point them to Christ. We truly do represent Jesus Christ. (see Alma 7:13 and Alma 34:14-16)

I love being a sister missionary. I love being a sister training leader. I am so grateful for this opportunity to be a instrument in the Lord’s hands to bring his children unto him. I more fully understand what it means to be a Savior on Mount Zion. I love this work and all I want to do is fulfill my purpose and bring about His great work!!

love you all!

Sister Stegelmeier

Leave a Reply

