What Wild Lives We Lead!!! Loving Florida and the People There.

baptisms!!  Oh Ya!

baptisms!! Oh Ya!

G.I. NOVA. I wish you could read what all the sticky notes are. We assigned each person a character...Sis. Stegelmeier trying to pull of the Bruce Willis look.

G.I. NOVA. I wish you could read what all the sticky notes are. We assigned each person a character…Sis. Stegelmeier trying to pull of the Bruce Willis look.

Classy stachy

Classy stachy

Don't you wish you were here with us?

Don’t you wish you were here with us?

Haitian Soup.  You either love it or you hate it.

Haitian Soup. You either love it or you hate it.

Up and coming ice cream truck that plays rap music

Up and coming ice cream truck that plays rap music

Ice cream truck that plays rap music.

Ice cream truck that plays rap music.

Jumping for Joy - Missionary work is so fun!!

Jumping for Joy – Missionary work is so fun!!

july 2013 man dancing street corner 2 july 2013 man dancing street corner 3

Man dancing on street corner so awesome.  We were too far away to extend an invite.

Man dancing on street corner so awesome. We were too far away to extend an invite.

Palm Trees and rain

Palm Trees and rain

Check  out this ride.

Check out this ride.

G.I. NOVA. I wish you could read what all the sticky notes are. We assigned each person a character...Sis. Dougal def the girl with the huge gun on the left

G.I. NOVA. I wish you could read what all the sticky notes are. We assigned each person a character…Sis. Dougal def the girl with the huge gun on the left

Three generations.  Crishelle is a grandma twice.  :)

Three generations. Crishelle is a grandma twice. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sister Dougal is a grandma twice as well.  Three generations ;)

Sister Dougal is a grandma twice as well. Three generations ๐Ÿ˜‰

My dearest family!!!

I love being a sister missionary so much!!! I can’t believe how fast time is flying! I am so excited for there to be 2 Sister Stegelmeier’s in the Lord’s army! We are baptizing the children of the Lord from coast to coast. ๐Ÿ™‚

This week I realized the importance of spiritually creating. I have struggled emailing in the past couple weeks because it has been so hard for me to gather my thoughts about the weeks events. So I turned to the Lord because I know that if something in missionary work is not fun (aka the Spirit isn’t there) then I am not doing it the Lord’s way. I felt inspired to spiritually create my emails! I am so excited to email this week (sadly i left my binder home with my notes…).

This week we have seen so many incredible miracles. We love our area soooooo much and we have really been striving to work with the ward. We felt inspired to go and follow up again with a referral the elders gave us a couple weeks ago for a woman they met in Walmart. Sadly Liz was not home and we were about to leave but I felt like we were here for a reason so I looked around and said “Sister lets knock on this door.” So we did! They let us right in and we left a blessing with them – the Spirit was SO strong. We knew the Lord had sent us to them. They all immediately accepted baptism. The next day we returned to teach them – they are so amazing and are all getting baptized on the 21st! Then we went to see Liz again but she wasn’t home but her neighbor was right outside raking. We offered to help her and to leave a blessing on her home. She also immediately accepted baptism and was so grateful we came. When we came back the next day to see her she said “I know the Lord sent you because I have been so depressed and baptism is exactly what I need.” Each time we came by we knocked on Liz’s door but she wasn’t home but on Saturday we tried again. She answered and again immediately let us in before we could even tell her who we were she said “I am so glad you came today!” She had just had a big argument with her family and was praying as we knocked on her door. She also immediately accepted baptism and is getting work off on Sundays so she can repent and be baptized! The Lord is truly in this work. As we rely on the Spirit he guides us to those who are ready at exactly the right time!

I have been studying how to have more spiritual power in teaching doctrine and this week I was reading in Helaman 3. Nephi and Lehi are my heros. I love in verse 3 where they spiritually created asย “they did fast and pray oft, and did wax stronger and stronger in their humility, and firmer and firmer in the faith of Christ, unto the filling their souls with joy and consolation, yea, even to the purifying and the sanctification of their hearts, which sanctification cometh because of their yielding their hearts unto God.” As they humbled them selves and turned to God they were changed. They had that mighty change of heart and they then went out and preached baptizing many (tens of thousands) unto repentance! They taught doctrine, the words of Christ “which is quick and powerful, which shall divide asunder all the cunning and the snares and the wiles of the devil, and lead the man of Christ in a strait and narrow course across that everlasting gulf of misery.” This gave them Spiritual power! This enabled them to be instruments in the hands of the Lord. I know that as I turn to the Lord in prayer, yield my heart to him, and humbly serve with all my heart I will have his Spirit. Teaching doctrine with the Spirit is the Lord’s way.

I am loving life so much there is nothing greater than being a tool in the Lord’s hands. So many wild and hilarious things happened this week. Here are a few:

Brother T (one of elder ponds recent converts) baptized Jean and Latisha! It was great! We were about to take pictures but we could not find Brother T. We searched the whole building and finally we decided to look in the font. There he was standing in the water twirling around in a circle. He was so excited. We barely got him out of the water to take the picture. Then he went missing again and yes he was in the font again. haha after he baptized them he laid back in the water (loving life) and brother beale was like “T what are you doing you can’t get baptized again!!” We were dying!

Sister Dougal definitely pretended to be a sheep in our lesson with Latisha. I am not sure how to describe this one… but it definitely involved her butting her head against my shoulder and baaing. hahahahahahahaha

Our investigator Teresa has been struggling with busting her bumps (picking her face)!! I will forever refer to it as busting my bumps. haha

There was a dancing man with no shame whatsoever shaking his hips at the bus stop we wanted so bad to invite him to be baptized but we were 3 lanes of traffic away…

We invited the bikers next to us at the light to come to church and be baptized. They said they would think about it but my favorite part was when we tried to give him a church card but sister dougal couldn’t reach and the Biker man told her if she was going to spread the word she best get up and walk or something. haha So she got out and gave it to him!

I am a grandma times 2 sister merrill is training sister carl and sister herrera is training sister bird. Oh boy.

well I love you all!! Love the adventures you are having.

love,

Sister Stegelmeier

 

One response

  1. Reading these letters and looking at the pictures makes me very homesick for the FFLM. It was such a pleasure to know and work with these great missionaries while we served there.

Leave a Reply

