A last and marvelously miracle filled week in Davie. :)

My dearest Family!!!!

Wow I am soo thankful for the time that I have had to serve in Davie. This morning I was pondering and reflecting on how much my life has changed because of the time that I have spent serving the Lord in Davie and I could not help but smile.

I know that I can fully turn the area to Sister Merrill as you know she is more than capable. She is incredible. I am so grateful for the time that I was able to serve alongside her. She is truly a valiant, diligent, obedient, humble and dedicated missionary. I have learned so much from her. She is going to be an amazing trainer.

This week I was able to go on 2 exchanges up to royal palm beach (the furthest north I have been on my mission) and Fountainbleu down in Hialeah (the furthest south). It was a wild time and I learned sooooo much from both. 🙂 Also in case anyone was wondering Hialeah is all spanish and I no habla espanol.. haha It was crazy but great.

Alberto got baptized!!! It was so beautiful. He played “I need thee every hour” on the trumpet at his baptism and was crying for joy the whole time. We also had another miracle and Lucy in the pines ward got baptized. So awesome.

This week we have seen some incredible miracles in Davie. On Thursday night Sister Johnson left to Pines for Lucy’s baptismal interview and Sister Merrill and I stayed in Davie to follow-up with some people. The people that we were planning on seeing were not home so we decided to pray and ask the Lord where he wanted us. We started walking (sister johnson had our car) not sure where we were going but we trusted that the Lord would lead us. We felt prompted to go to a neighboring trailer park to check up on some referrals and find a man that we had street contacted. We first went to see Suhadi. We taught her repentance and emphasized the how just as you trained us on last week. It was amazing to see the hope in her eyes as she understood the how and started to see the light at the end of the tunnel. She had been nervous about baptism, but as she understood repentance she knew that was what God wanted her to do. She is preparing to be baptized on June 2nd! Then we went to see Bill. We met Bill back at the beginning of the year but he has struggled with some personal stuff and wanted that all to be resolved. He would not budge so we dropped him until things changed. When we walked up to his home he was outside. He was so happy to see us and told us how all the charges against him had been dropped and how everything was resolved! He then told us that he had been thinking about his baptism and was so happy that we came to see him that day!! He invited himself to be baptized President!! It was amazing. He didn’t get baptized Sunday but he is preparing to be baptized tonight. We are going to do all we can. It was amazing to see that as we turned to the Lord and asked where he wanted us that he lead us to those who really needed us that very night. I love this work.

Ether 12:27 has taken on a whole new meaning for me in the last little while. I have never felt so weak and truly in need of the enabling power of the Atonement. “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.” What a marvelous gift our Father in Heaven has given us in the gift of imperfection. Oh how desperately we need Christ and his Atonement. It is through Him that we will be able to overcome our weaknesses through the gifts that he gives us. We are all weak but as we come unto Christ with a broken heart and contrite spirit he builds us and somehow makes up the difference. It is truly amazing.

This weeks exchanges were life changing for me and I hope the other Sisters as well. I learned soooo much and we saw some amazing miracles.

Sister Moody is amazing. In starting the exchange we set a vision of what we both wanted to learn and become because of this exchange. She wanted to be a happy and confident missionary and to fear God more than man. So awesome! I left her the first commitment of the day – to start every conversation and invite everyone we meet and see to be baptized and to come to church. She was very nervous but after sharing D&C 84:85 she new the Lord would have her back. 🙂  The lord truly lead and guided us to those who needed us that day and Sister Moody was so bold and trusting. My favorite part of the whole day was when we were driving to the place they had planned to harvest and Sister Moody could not remember how to get there so we pulled over and prayed. Then I said ok drive. She looked at me and said but where are we going. I said I don’t know! I have never been here but you just asked and the Lord is going to lead us!! So we started driving and came to a street that we had been on earlier that day and we started harvesting. We left 9 harvest blessings and 7 of them said YES!! It was a miracle!!! The Lord truly lead us to those he had prepared. It was so amazing. After harvesting we discussed together what made that harvesting hour different for us than any other harvesting hour on our missions. We both learned a huge lesson – because we asked and then acted we showed our Faith in Christ (not our own skills) and because of that we were able to have complete faith centered on Christ. True faith. Our testimonies, blessings and invitations were more powerful because each of us had receive the confirmation that this is where the Lord wanted us to be at that moment and that he had people prepared for us. It was the best! There truly is no better way to do the Lord work than His way! Other commitments I left her throughout the day were to speak with conviction, power and authority by not saying anything that she did not 100% believe, also to have fun and love every minute and be happy!, to act so that the Spirit can guide.
Picture 002 Picture 003 Picture 009 Picture 011Wow I have learned so much in the last couple weeks about pride and humility, charity, righteous and unrighteous competition, leadership, trusting in the Lord, faith in Jesus Christ, and obedience. I am so thankful. I love this work and I am very excited to serve in NOVA!!!!

love you all!

Sister Stegelmeier

ps I am very exctied for Chelsey!!! I love the temple so much and I can’t wait to hear all about it! Just love every minute sistah!!

Pictures:  Sister Dougal, is my new companion, she wrote the following: “For p-day we went to Sistrunk Blvd, this really ghetto street in Ft Laud and took pics by the graffiti. Here are some pictures….the one of Sister Steg & Sister Merrill is their faces when we entered the ghetto. (They’ve spent all of their missions so far in Davie which is a very white and NOT ghetto area.)”

One response

Leave a Reply

