Change is Good!

8 April 2013 14 April 2013 15 April 2013My dearest family!!!

So I am going to be in Davie for another 6 weeks. I love it. 🙂 I don’t know how I will ever leave.

It has been another amazing miracle filled week here in Davie! I love this work so much. I have really been pondering the promise we made with God and how our names will be sealed in the temple. Our purpose and our Promise are so great and glorious. This is the Lord’s work and we see his hand in it each and everyday as we serve with all our heart, might, mind and strength and as we give the Lord our best our very BEST! I have never found so much joy and happiness as I have in serving here on my mission. At the same time I have never experienced so much heart break, but this has just shown me that opposition is absolutely necessary and teaches us so much. I love this work. It is the GREATEST!

So we have been using the recorder – it is sooooo funny. I hope you can understand the stories through my laughing. hahahahaha it will be great. 🙂 best journal ever.

Janice and her family got baptized!! YAY! Also Pines is so excited to have their own set of missionaries! So now we are focusing in Davie again. 🙂

There are many great things happening in Davie! We have been working with the ward to continue to move things forward. I am really excited for the amazing things that are happening in the ward. We are going to be training the Youth about how to be missionaries FFLM style and we are working to unite our ward missionaries to help strengthen the new members. It is great to see how as we work hard to fulfill our promises that we have made with God – he opens the door to ways and opportunities to strengthen all those around us.

We have been working with Angelica and her family for a weekish. Angelica has been really progressing and loves the Book of Mormon but she was nervous to come to a new church and feel out of place. So we called some of the Young women and the leaders to come with us this week. They came and it was awesome! We were able to teach Angelica about her value as a young woman and the Restoration with the Young Woman president. It was amazing to see the Light of Christ within her ignite and take flame as she answered the baptismal interview question 2 and as the young woman with us bore testimony. The next day we took another young woman and leader with us. We taught Angelica about the Sabbath day and the young woman with us committed her to coming to church on Sunday. She said YES! She came to church yesterday and loved it. She brought her little sister with her and next week they are bringing her whole family to see her baptism and so they can prepare to be baptized. It is amazing to see the Lord fulfill his promises as we do all we can and use all the tools he has given us to bring his children unto him.

Hope has always been something that has been hard for me to wrap my head around. The scriptures teach us in Ether 12:4 that “whoso believeth in God might with surety hope for a better world, yea, even a place at the right hand of God, which hope cometh of faith, maketh an anchor to the souls of men, which would make them sure and steadfast, always abounding in good works, being led to glorify God.” So basically our belief in God leads to faith which leads to repentance, baptism and receiving the Holy Ghost. Our belief creates a sure foundation on Christ. I can’t think of a better anchor. This hope gives us vision, purpose, and enables us to see ourselves and others as we may become. We create this anchor as we yield to the Spirit rather than the natural man. This is all made possible through both the redeeming and enabling power of the Atonement! With Christ we can, do and will change. All those around us can, do and will change as they act in true doctrine. Hope is everything! It is found as we use our agency to act rather than be acted upon.

Sister Merrill is doing great. She is amazing. This week I have really been working on helping her take the lead in all things. It is amazing to watch her learn and grow as she pushes out of her comfort zone. I love working with her. She works hard, loves everyone, and is always looking at what we can do better!

Thank you for being the greatest family in the world. I love hearing from you! I love you all so much. I love this work and I love the Lord.

Love,

Sister Stegelmeier

Leave a Reply

