Faith in the Lord Jesus Christ and Exact Obedience Brings Miracles!

crishelle pointing so you can see her crazy sister missionaries crishelle with fuzzy hat sister herreraMy dearest family!!!

This week has been a wild one! I love wild south Florida it is ALWAYS an adventure down here 🙂

This week we sneaked into a gated community and walked 2 and a half miles to see Kevin! Diana (Sister Ellis – she served with Christina!!!!  -my cousin) got home from her mission last week and she came with us! We didn’t get caught and we were able to see Kevin and solidify his baptism for this Friday! it was awesome!!! hahaha (Small world! Stina!!! I love you and seeing Diana and talking to her was so fun! You are both rockstar missionaries! I am so proud of you! You are my hero!!)

We saw the temple again this week! It is sooooooooo beautiful! I is coming along! hopefully next March!

We have been learning and growing so much here in Davie and we continue to see HUGE miracles as we strive to be exactly obedient and full of faith in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Bill is being SUPER stubborn and it is driving me crazy! ah! He needs the atonement so bad and he knows it – we think he is scared of quitting smoking and drinking for good. This week he is going to be baptized. It is really awesome to see him put things together in his mind and realize that what we are telling him is really true.

We have to talk to everyone!! They all need the gospel so much! When we are willing to talk to everyone and we show the Lord that he can trust us he puts his elect in our path and leads us right to them! While looking for an address of a family that we had met at a playground. We got super lost in the trailer park that we were in and couldn’t find the right street. We decided to go down a street that we had never been down. While walking down this street we walked past Wilson’s house. He was just coming out of his trailer and we walked up and introduced ourselves. He had a beer in his hand and as we told him who we were he looked at us and said “I know the Lord has sent you here, I have been backsliding this last week in a big way and I know he has sent you here for that reason.” As we left the prayer with him and his beautiful family the Spirit was super strong. They all accepted baptism. I had a book of Mormon with me and I felt prompted to introduce Wilson to the Book of Mormon. The next day when we came back to see them we took a member with us. It was right after the training and we were very excited to liken the book of Mormon to Wilson and Elizabeth. We did and Sister Bartmess testified of the power of the Book of Mormon – They started to grasp a little of the “fire” that comes with the Book of Mormon. We left them a chapter to read. The next day we went back and for whatever reason they had not read it. We read parts of 3 Ne 27 with Wilson and asked inspired questions that opened his heart to the testimony of the Spirit. Then we turned to Moroni 10:5 and Sister Herrera asked him what he thought the feeling in his heart was and what it meant. Wilson said “I know it is true!!!” It was so amazing. That night he read not only the chapter we left him but he also read Enos! Last night we went to see Wilson, he told us that he knows that everything we are telling him is true. He doesn’t know how he is going to act on it because all the people he loves will disown him but he is going to quit his job so he can come and get baptized! Wilson is so prepared!!! It was so amazing to see that as we likened the Book of Mormon to him and as we asked inspired questions that caused him to seek learning by faith and open his heart to the testimony of the Spirit, he is on the road to conversion! I love this work so much!!!

I have always wanted to be like the stripling warriors in the Book of Mormon and this week while studying Alma 56 and 57 I noticed some things that I had never noticed before. These incredible young sons of Helaman were steadfast and firm in their faith. They trusted in the Lord in all things and showed the Lord through their exact obedience that they were worthy of His trust. They were patient and they waited on the Lord. They acted courageously and fought valiantly. They experimented on their faith and as they did the Lord did show them his power in preserving all of their lives. “And we do justly ascribe it to the miraculous power of God, because of their exceeding faith in that which they had been taught to believe葉hat there was a just God, and whosoever did not doubt, that they should be preserved by his marvelous power.” (Alma 57:26) As we do not doubt and we believe in Jesus Christ and expeiriment on our faith we see the Lord’s power in our lives! I know this is true and I have seen it happen time and time again in my life and in the lives of those I serve and serve with. Our faith must always be rooted and centered in Jesus Christ, for he is mighty to save.

Sister Herrera is growing so much! This week she has really grasped faith and because of that we saw some HUGE miracles. Her confidence is growing. She is getting the Why more and more everyday. I love working with her and am learning so much. I am so thankful for the trust that the Lord has in us and for this opportunity to grow and learn.

We were able to see Liz for the first time in a whole month last night – MIRACLE!!!!!!! The Lord is truly in this work he knows what we need. She is so amazing.

We also had a specialized training this week from President and Sister Anderson. I love them so much and learn so much from them. They are my heros! (I have a ton of heroes hahaha…)

Well I love you all!!! I would love to hear from you all. (hint hint)  I celebrated my six month mark this week.  Can you believe six months has already flown by?  I love being a missionary.

love,

Sister Stegelmeier

Leave a Reply

