Two Baptisms and Another week of Miracles

My dearest family!!!

Yes I dyed my hair – I am now a burnette and I love it!! haha who would have thought!? I didn’t lose a bet I just decided one day and Sister Johnson did it for me. I panicked a couple times but they held me to it and at first I freaked out but now I love it. Sister Holyan says that now I look like a Stegelmeier. Do you like it? I will try to send more pictures. Not very many people have noticed but it looks super natural.

It has been a crazy week. Transfers are always a good time – change is so good for us! We always learn so much! Sister Dougal is Sister Holyan’s new comp. She is great.

O1-22-2013 cheryln a side note I turned 6 months old in the mission. I can’t believe it. It has flown by! will someone please slow down the clock!!! hahaha

We have seen some huge miracles in Davie this week as we have counseled together as a companionship and worked to have more unity – there have been some amazing blessings pouring in. So amazing.

Cherly – Mission President interviewed her on Tuesday morning then she headed to go see her Mother-in-law at the hospital. Everything was set for her baptism at 6:30. We were very excited. Cherly called us at about 4 crying. Her mom had just passed away. She said she wanted to postpone the baptism. As we talked to her we told her we loved her and that we were there for her and that we would call in 30 minutes so she could call everyone else. As we hung up the phone. I started doubting wondering if we should just wait till Sunday or if we should push. When we got to the car (we were grocery shopping) Sister Herrera looked at me and said “Well looks like we need to lace up our boots and testify if we are going to have a baptism tonight!?” I smiled and said oh yeah!!! So we called Cherly back and testified about the blessings of baptism and invited her to follow the example of Jesus Christ and be baptized that night. She thought about it and then said “yes it is time I am not going to let things keep getting in the way of me and Jesus Christ.” We moved the baptism to 8 so she could make it through crazy Miami traffic. It was one of the most beautiful baptisms!!!

Justin! –  is one of the most prepared 13 year olds I have ever met. He just didn’t know it! haha He had his interview and was set to be baptized on Sunday. We called Thursday morning to confirm our appointment with his mom and she told us that Justin had decided not to be baptized on Sunday. We said, ok well we will talk to him tonight and see how he feels from there. Sister Herrera and I united our faith and went to see Justin that night. As we testified, shared experiences, promised blessings, re-identified the spirit, created a sense of urgency and were bold with Justin. We were so thankful for all of these “tools” the Lord has given us to use. We then invited him to kneel and pray and ask Heavenly Father. He did. We felt inspired to be bold after the prayer and we told him “Justin the only thing holding you back from recieving all the blessings you need and want so you can be successful and happy is your choice. You can be baptized this minute – we can fill the font. So are you going to put on your big boy boots and follow the example of Jesus Christ so you can have the gift of the Holy Ghost?” He decided to do be baptized. It was amazing to see him make the connection of his choices and the blessings that will come as he presses forward and follows through. He called Bridger and asked him to baptize him on Sunday – it was the best phone conversation I have ever heard. The next day we were just finishing up our lunch and we saw that we had a voice mail. It was Justin’s mom. She said that Justin had prayed and decided that he didn’t want to wait any longer – he wanted to be baptized that day!!! We called the whole ward and he was baptized that night! My favorite part of his baptism was when he stood up and bore his testimony right after Bishop welcomed everyone and said that he regretted saying he didn’t want to be baptized because he knew he was doing the right thing.

Unity is such an amazing thing. Just like everything else in life it is something that we always have to work for but when we unite our efforts that is when big miracles happen. In Alma 52 the nephites were struggling to hold onto their cities and were striving to regain their lost cities. “Moroni and Teancum and many of the chief captains held a council of war—what they should do to cause the Lamanites to come out against them to battle; or that they might by some means flatter them out of their strongholds, that they might gain advantage over them and take again the city of Mulek.” In this council they devised a strategy that enabled them to not only regain possesion of the city of Mulek but also take a large portion of the Lamanite army prisoner. It is so important that we council together as companions with the Lord. As we do this he will show us the better way. I have seen this happen this week as we have turned to one another and together with the Spirit testified and challenged.

This next week Bill, Ray and Kevin are all going to be baptized! We are super excited! Kevin  is a miracle from the Pines ward Sister Dye probably knows him. He is a rockstar! We met him on Sunday and took the Elders with us to interview him! He is going to be baptized on Sunday! Bill and Ray are both so amazing we are really looking to help them both overcome their fear but I know that as we testify the Spirit will do all the work. It always does.

I have been learning a lot this week about learning and teaching through faith! It is amazing to see how Heavenly Father honors our agency so much. Also Charity. we are nothing without charity. Love it!

I love this work and I love the people of Davie!! I love Sister Herrera! I love our purpose!!! I am so excited for the many more miracles that are flowing in as we are always introspecting and striving to become more like our Savior Jesus Christ.

Love,

Sister Stegelmeier

Leave a Reply

