First Week in Florida

I love Flordia so much it is crazy. The people here are so incredible. I love them all so much and want to share the gospel with everyone I see. It is hard not to be sad when they don’t want to hear it because you know how much the message we want to share with them will bless their lives. It is so hot and humid and there are so many bugs I dont even know what to do. I have like 20 misquito bites on my legs and there are cochroaches and all manner of spiders everywhere. Basically you sweat all day every day it is great! The weather isn’t as bad as i thought it would be. There are also so many frogs and Lizzards – Tango would go crazy! haha (BTW BEDBUGS ARE REAL!!! THEY ARE MEAN – LIKE MISQUITOS!!)

Ok there is so much I want to tell you and so little time I will do my best. 🙂 Before I came on a mission I knew that I loved this gospel and that I loved the Lord, but I didn’t know how important it is that I share this love with everyone that I meet everywhere – especially here in South Florida. My eyes have been opened like they were never before opened to the importance of the doctrine of Christ, testifying and challenging. I have been studying the mission of Alma and Amulek in Alma. Wow – talk about challenging and testifying missionaries. I loved how when Amulek was asked by Zeesrom all the the “anti-mormon” questions to mix him up and condemn him, Amulek had no fear – he just simply testified of Christ. Then Alma took advantage of the opportunity to expound on and to testify again of Christ and what Amulek had testified of. This is how we testify together as companions, this is how we should be united. We both come from different backgrounds and have different experiences with the Atonement but we can both testify of and challenge those we meet to return to christ, repent and bebaptized. There is no reason to fear, as we are obedient in all things and testify and challenge the Spirit will be with us and will open the hearts of the people of Davie.
I love my companion so much! Her name is Sister Dye and she is from Orem! We both love this work and are out to not only see miracles happen but make them happen through our faith. There is no room for fear here – there is no time for it – there is much to be done and we are going to do it!

On Wednesday Sister Dye and I got out of the car and we were going to see some of our investigators, as we were walking there was a man on the other side of the street – Sister Dye introduced us and invited him to have a blessing. He told us his name was Maurice and he was super sick and frustrated and was out walking just to blow off steam and get fresh air. He didn’t want to get us sick. Sister Dye testified of Christ and he allowed us to say a prayer. As I offered the prayer I was filled with the Spirit and given the words to say. I don’t remember what I said but when the blessing was over Maurice’s contenance had changed and softened. He said he felt peace and was healed. We testified that this was the Spirit and Heavenly Father telling him that what we said is true. We invited him to be baptized and he said he had already been baptized – we said that was fine and asked him if he was would prepare to be baptized by the priesthood authority of god on the 19th of august. we got a return appointment for this week – his and his families schedule has been crazy but they are looking for a church to come together to. I am very excited to testify and challenge this family to come closer to Christ and partake of the atonement through baptism. David – he never lets people talk to him about religion but after we said a prayer with him he really opened up to us. He was really hesitant about coming to church and scared to move forward – he likes things his way. I testified that it takes a ton of courage to do what the Lord asks of us but as we do He does take care of us and blesses us. We walked away after challenging him to pray about it and to know what Heavenly Father would have him do. We wondered if we would ever see him again. He called us 30 minutes later asking for directions to chruch the next morning. He came to church and is still hesitant about accepting baptism but we have a return appointment with him tomorrow.

I love Davie, Florida ! It is an incredible place. It is crazy how many people there are in our area. My eyes have been opened to how much the people of this world need the gospel – they need the Atonement and the only way they have access to the atonement is baptism by the proper priesthood authority of God. All they have to be is willing and that is enough. We have no room to judge and decide when they are ready that is the Lord’s job. It is up to us to testify and challenge. We are his mouthpieces. We love the ward and are working on building trust with them so that they are on board with what we are doing. If you have any ideas on how to do that we would love to hear them.

I am doing so great! I love missionary work. It is easy to get frustrated when so many people dont want to hear what you have to say, but I know that it does not matter how many people say no it just matters that we find the ones that will say yes. Sister Dye is amazing I have already learned so much from her about loving people. I love her and am so excited to serve with her. I love this work, I love the gospel, I love the people of South Florida and I love the Lord. The Atonement is real and as we return to Christ and repent He will heal us no matter how “lost” we think we are.

Read the Book of Mormon as often and as much as possible there is no other way quicker to come closer to Christ that I know of. This is Christ’s church, this is Christ’s work. Testify of Him at every opportunity you have. I love you all so much and can’t wait to tell you more next week!

Sister Stegelmeier

PS funniest thing ever – one of our investigators pulled out an E-Cig (a water vapor cigarette or something I am not really sure) and started smoking it in sacrament meeting and during Elder’s Quorum. You should have seen the looks on everyone’s faces. hahahahahahaha no one knew what to do – it was hilarious!!

 

Leave a Reply

